top of page
  • humansneedhumansor

Don’t frikin 'sleep at 3am!


What time do you tell your mother you’re going to bed and at what time do you actually do? No joke, I tell them I’m asleep at 11:30 whereas I actually sleep at 3am. And I know for a fact that more than half of you all do this too. Guess why? Because at the back of our minds, we’re allowing ourselves to compromise on sleep just for a few hours of some “me time” - no stress of homework, no one asking you to do your chores, but instead just you, and the freedom to whatever you want.




Sometimes, you so desperately just want time to yourself that you don’t even know why you're up. You’re just mindlessly scrolling through Netflix or just playing dress up. The idea is just that you're taking “revenge” on the daytime hours you spent doing things you may not actually like/stress you. This is because of the lack of free time in your schedule. (or maybe because you procrastinate during the day too, where you just sit and stare at the wall) All I do in the afternoons is just sit in front of my laptop pretending to be productive. And then after I very hurriedly finish my work (trash quality), I go back to watching strange videos on Youtube and reading random Wikipedia pages.




However, do any of us realize the impact this has on our sleep? And school/work for that matter. Firstly, lack of sleep long term can lead to poor decision making (another thing to contribute to that, great eye roll) and increase chances of heart diseases, and depression. Simple ways to not fall down this rabbit hole is to not exercise and use screens before bed (I have no right to say this because that’s exactly what I do everyday). What else can you do? Buy a planner. And schedule. cue Jane from The Bold Type with her planner and colorful pens . Work out your day step by step so that you have enough free time AND enough time to sleep. Do things you love the most - fix an hour for it, and do what you love, Every. Single. Day. I promise it’ll make you really happy and you’ll feel that you’ve taken time out to hang out with yourself.



Try to correct your terrible sleep cycle cuz babe I know you messed that shiz up this quarantine.



By Raghavi

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page